Evacuation centres

Numerous locations have been identified by the ACT Government as potential places to use for an Evacuation Centre in an emergency.

Under the ACT Emergency Plan, the ACT Government Community Services Directorate is responsible for planning and managing recovery services. These are identified in the ACT Community Recovery Plan [.PDF 565 KB].

If evacuation is necessary, affected members of the community could be directed to one or more of the sites listed below.

IMPORTANT TO NOTE: The site or sites to be used as Evacuation Centres will only be selected at the time of the emergency based on factors related to the actual situation.

You must actively seek this advice during an emergency through this website esa.act.gov.au, our Twitter and Facebook accounts, ACT local media outlets and Canberra Connect Call centre on 13 22 81.

The sites that are identified for use as evacuation centres are

Canberra College – Woden Campus – Launceston Street, Phillip
Copland College – Copland Drive, Melba
Dickson College – Phillip Avenue, Dickson
Erindale College – McBryde Crescent, Wanniassa
Lake Ginninderra College – Emu Bank, Belconnen
Lake Tuggeranong College – Cowlishaw Street, Tuggeranong
Hawker College – Murranji Street, Hawker
Narrabundah College— Jerrabomberra Avenue, Narrabundah
Canberra Institute of Technology, Bruce Campus
Canberra Institute of Technology, Reid Campus
Canberra Institute of Technology, Woden Campus

Other sites identified

Exhibition Park in Canberra, Mitchell
Australian Institute of Sport, Bruce
Child & Family Centres, Gungahlin and Tuggeranong
Therapy ACT site, Holder

Regional Community Centres

Weston Creek Community Centre
Parkinson Street, Weston
Tuggeranong Community Centre
Cowlishaw Street, Greenway
Woden Community Centre
Corinna Street, Woden
Southside Community Centre
Boolimba Crescent, Narrabundah
Belconnen Community Centre
Swanson Street, Belconnen
Majura Community Centre
Rosevear Crescent, Dickson
Gungahlin Community Centre, Ernest Cavanagh Street, Gungahlin
Other options include licensed clubs

This page was last modified on July 7th, 2014