

## ACT Bushfire Council Minutes

Date: 20 Oct 2021

Time: 3 pm – 7 pm

Location: Online Webex Meeting

Attendance	
Chair	Sally Troy – Chair, ACT Bushfire Council
Attendees	Dylan Kendall – Deputy Chair, ACT Bushfire Council
	Tony Bartlett – Member
	John Brickhill– Member
	Kylie Coe – Member
	Andrew Geikie – Member
	Len Morris – Member
	Asha Naznin – Member
	Marta Yebra – Member
	Minister Mick Gentleman – Minister for Police and Emergency Services
	Shobaz Kandola – Ministerial Senior Adviser
	Georgeina Whelan – ESA Commissioner
	Rohan Scott – Chief Officer, ACT Rural Fire Service (ACTRFS)
	Matthew Mavity – A/g Chief Officer ACT Fire and Rescue (F&R)
	Daniel Iglesias - Executive Branch Manager, Parks and Conservation Service, Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate (EPSDD)
	Sophie Lewis – Chair of Strategic Bushfire Management Plan Governance Committee
Apologies	
Guests	Victoria Herbert - Environment, Planning and Sustainable Development Directorate

Secretariat	Tara Bucknall – Executive Officer ESA Deputy Commissioner
-------------	---

tem	Торіс	Action or Decision	Area Responsible	Due		
1.	Welcome and Apologies					
	The Chair acknowledged the traditional custodians of the land that the meeting was on, the Ngunnawal people. She acknowledged their management of the lands, including the traditional teaching of fire and the positive impact these have in supporting land and country to thrive. The Chair welcomed all to the meeting and confirmed administrative arrangements for this first meeting,					
2.	Welcomes					
	<ul> <li>The Minister for Police and Emergency Services welcomed all members of the council, new and returning, and discussed his intent for the ACT Bushfire Council.</li> <li>The Chair invited all attending ACT Government officials to introduce themselves: <ul> <li>ACT Emergency Services Commissioner – Georgeina Whelan</li> <li>Chief Officer Rural Fire Service – Rohan Scott</li> <li>Executive Branch Manager, Parks and Conservation Service – Daniel Iglesias</li> <li>A/g Chief Officer Fire &amp; Rescue – Matthew Mavity</li> </ul> </li> </ul>					
	<ul> <li>The Chair invited all Council memebrs to introduce themselves and why they applied to be a member of the Council:</li> <li>Deputy Chair – Dylan Kendall</li> <li>Tony Bartlett</li> <li>John Brickhill</li> <li>Kylie Coe</li> <li>Andrew Geikie</li> <li>Len Morris</li> <li>Asha Naznin</li> <li>Marta Yebra</li> </ul>					
	The Chair introduced herself.					
	The Minister thanked all for their introductions and confirmed his commitment to workin	g with the Council over the per	iod of their appointme	ent.		

	The Minister and Senior Advisor left the meeting.		
3.	Presentation by ESA Commissioner – Georgeina Whelan		
	ESA Commissioner – Georgeina Whelan provided a presentation on the structure and roles undertaken within ESA. She outlined the strategic priorities, challenges and areas of focus over the next 4-10 years within the Agency. She invited questions from Council members.		
	<ul> <li>Council members asked questions around the following subjects:</li> <li>Challenges faced with projected population and increasing urban density in the ACT</li> <li>How to ensure that the Community is not just warned about emergencies, but educated and supported to ensure community resilience</li> <li>What does a community partnership with ESA look like and what does it mean to the Community</li> <li>Partnership with the community includes Emergency Services understanding what matters to community groups and acknowledges the knowledge and skills within those groups. The damage to fencing in the 2020 fires that impacted on rural landholders was acknowledged as an example of where this was not understood or recognised well</li> <li>What is the planning framework that will be of most interest to the council</li> <li>What does Community Resilience look like.</li> </ul>		
	5 min break		
4.	Presentation by Chair of Strategic Bushfire Management Governance Committee -	– Sophie Lewis	
	Dr Lewis introduced herself and provided a presentation of the role and responsibilities of the Strategic Bushfire Management Plan (SBMP) Governance Committee. She outlined the work undertaken during 2021, noting that the committee in its current structure was only established in November 2020. Dr Lewis outlined the areas of overlap between Council's work and the Governance Committee. She identified areas where Council review and oversight would be of most value to her as the independent Chair of the Governance Committee. She invited questions from the Council.		
	<ul> <li>Council members asked questions around the following subjects:</li> <li>Understanding the reporting differences between Council and Governance Committee</li> <li>How do SBMP action owners deliver outcomes with no funding specifically</li> </ul>		

	<ul> <li>allocated to SBMP</li> <li>What type of opportunities does the Council have to explore further specific matters or actions listed within the SBMP</li> </ul>	
5.	In camera	
	The Chair thanked all officials for their presentation and took the meeting In Camera.	
6.	Acceptance of Minutes	
	It was noted that the previous Council approved September minutes out of session	
8.	Correspondence for noting	
	The chair deferred discussion of correspondence until Nov meeting	
9.	Review of Action items and adoption of action items from meeting	
	The chair deferred discussion of action items handed over from previous Council until Nov meeting	
10.	Other business	
	The Council agreed to the following meeting schedule for the remainder of 2021:	
	Wednesday 3 Nov - Meeting	
	Wednesday 24 Nov - Meeting     Friday 10 Data – Field Trip	
	<ul> <li>Friday 10 Dec – Field Trip</li> <li>Wednesday 15 Dec - Meeting</li> </ul>	
15.	Meeting closed 6.45. pm.	
	Chair thanked all for their contribution and attendance.	
	Meeting closed at 6.45 pm	